Sunday, January 23, 2011

Abraham Inc.: Tweet-Tweet

Have you heard about this Klezmer-funk-jazz band called Abraham Inc.? I've never really heard about them until recently when I was told about them and was introduced to their music.

About Abraham Inc.

With Abraham Inc. klezmer clarinet virtuoso DAVID KRAKAUER collaborates with one of the great masters of funk, trombonist FRED WESLEY (known for his work with James Brown, Bootsy Collins and Parliament Funkadelic), and beat architect SOCALLED. Add a three-piece horn section led by Wesley and members of Krakauer’s Klezmer Madness! band and the result is an all-out klezmer-funk dance party! A sold out concert at Zankel Hall at Carnegie Hall in December 2006 marked the first step in this collaborative venture which was also a hit at Transmusical de Rennes – one of the largest rock festivals in Europe, where it met with a resounding response from the crowds and a rave review in Le Monde. Abraham Inc. then brought down the house at the historic Apollo Theater in May 2008 with a performance that had the crowd dancing in the aisles. U.S. tour and CD release coming soon.

“Abraham Inc is about bringing people together, cultures together, music together -- and it’s just an amazingly great time.” -- David Krakauer

The group has produced their first music video for their title track “Tweet Tweet” and can be viewed on YouTube.

ABRAHAM INC.: (l to r) David Krakauer, Socalled, and Fred Wesley

When I was given the opportunity to listen to their tracks, I thought it was really fantastic. I'm someone who is into upbeat music and techno and I found that every track in the album were very enjoyable. Their music is a combination of jazz, rock, hip-hop, and klezmer with an incredible beat. It got my foot and fingers tapping away. Funky and groovy! If you haven't got a chance to listen to the album yet, I would recommend it.

You can follow Abraham Inc. on MySpace and on Facebook.

Track Titles:
1. Tweet-Tweet
2. Moskowitz Remix
3. It's Not the Same (Figure it Out)
4. The H Tune (Hava Nagila)
5. Trombonik
6. Push
7. Baleboste: A Beautiful Picture
8. Fred the Tzadik
9. Abe Inc Techno Mix

Musicians: David Krakauer (clarinet), Fred Wesley (trombone), Socalled (sampler, piano, organ, vocals), C Rayz Walz (rap vocals), Katie Moore, Matthew Flowers, Joshie Armstead, Alicia Krakauer (vocals), Sheryl Bailey, Alan Watsky (guitars), Jerome Harris (bass), Michael Sarin (drums), Freddie Hendrix (trumpet), Brandon Wright (tenor saxophone), Will Holshouser (accordion), Jordan Dare (techno remix)

The album is available at local retail stores or on Amazon.com.

Disclosure: I received digital audio files for listening in exchange for my review. Thanks to Absolute Pitch PR and Abraham Inc./Table Pounding Records. The opinions expressed are my own personal and honest thoughts. No other compensation was given.

Bookmark and Share